Daily FaF Smear (3/22/09)


The one where Reginald Blackstone’s championship pick is already out.

Things are back to the way they should be.

Things are back to the way they should be.

Is it right to “hate” someone when that person tends to ignore your existence or is that the only reason?  There’s no fun in that.  UT and A&M have always been the target of UH fans.  UT more so.  But, why?  Penis envy?  Funds envy?  Jock envy?  Either way, I picked against both UT and A&M in the first round in my bracket.  It’s nice to see that even though I was wrong they didn’t make it past the second.

I have no justification for my bias whatsoever.  I have friends from both institutions.  I don’t even really hate the towns of Austin or College Station.  But, it’s something about seeing those colors on the court or field that just makes me want to punt kittens into Buffalo Bayou.

So, sorry to Longhorn and Aggie fans this morning.  Something like that.  At least you have next year.  UH has more of a 4 year plan when it comes to any of this.  – FML [Ed. Note – If you haven’t checked out FMyLife.com yet, I recommend it]

Here are the rest of your Houston sports teams updates:

Texans:  Since there’s so much to wait for with the Draft on the horizon, let’s find publications that shower praise on the Houston Texans.  Here’s an article about Okoye on JOCKlife.com.  Good enough for me and to fill my requirements for writing about the Texans.

Rockets:  Big game against the Spurs today.  At least I won’t have to watch it in San Antonio.  Maybe I’ll watch it with Pipez which could possibly include even more one-sided commentary.  In the mean time, I point to this completely unofficial site on which Yao Ming gets an honorable mention for MVP and there are NO Spurs on the list.  I’ll take the moral victory until the tip-off.

DynamoHouston kicked off their season with a tie yesterday against the defending champion Columbus Crew.  Brian Ching “Kong” scored the first goal of the match in the second half.  The Crew tied it late in the game to split the points.  Get excited.  The MLS is upon us.

– Septimus Rex

[Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images]

6 Comments

  1. You hate them for the same reason that Sir Edmund Hilary climbed Everest – because fuck UT, that’s why.

  2. “Ching” Kong.. I like it!

  3. Damn Cleveland St., who picked them to win that game? Damn Wakeforest for losing that game. They fooled me with their flashy passing. They seemed like such a sheik pick. They crashed my bracket, so I’m finished with Wake. I don’t know if you can break up with a sports team, but I just did.

  4. You hate UT? I can’t imagine why. I hope you learn to root for your own state’s teams when they’re competing against away teams. Especially ones like [shudder] Duke.

    I also hope you learn the difference between “past” and “passed” so that you don’t look like such a dumbass the next time you’re insulting another team. Twit.

    • Technically my “state’s” teams would be one’s from PA… So, I’m not sure what you’re getting at. I had a selective adoption when it came to the teams of Texas. tu didn’t make the cut.

    • The University of Texas’s athletic teams are not Texas’s state teams. They are merely teams that represent A state university in Texas (because there are other state universities UT is not THE state university of Texas). Therefore, if one did not attend the University of Texas and/or is not employed by that institution, they really don’t have any greater reason to root for UT over other schools funded by state money. Once pompous “Tools” like yourself realize this, and also realize that most of the people who are proud to be from Texas would have even more state pride if Austin moved to Vermont, where it belongs, the world Texas will be a better place.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS